

UArctic Assembly Meeting / Bodø, Norway / June 2024

Agenda item: 5.2

Proposal – Approval of new Arctic Members of UArctic

Proposal: The UArctic Membership Committee proposes that the Assembly makes the following decisions:

- a) The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Arctic / Higher Education Institution members of the UArctic:
 - College Nordique, Canada
 - Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, Canada
 - Oslo School of Architecture and Design, Norway
- b) The Assembly accepts the following applicants as Arctic / Other members of the UArctic:
 - Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS), Denmark
- c) The Assembly confirms the Toyon decision to approve **Department of Geosciences, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)**, Norway, as Arctic / Other member of UArctic.

References: UArctic Constitution / Article 3 – Members

UArctic Bylaws / Sections 2.1 to 2.4 – Membership Structure

Summary of New Member Applicants 2024

Applicants:

By the membership application deadline in February 2024, the UArctic International Secretariat received eighteen (18) membership applications, including five Arctic member and thirteen Non-Arctic member applications. In addition, one Non-Arctic member application was deferred from last year to this year's vote. One of this year's applications was from a former member.

Following an extensive review, the UArctic Membership committee nominated the following four applicants to the category of Arctic Member of UArctic; of which three are Higher Education Institutions and one is Other Institutions. In addition, one applicant was accepted as Arctic / Other member by Toyon, and the decision is now to be confirmed by Assembly.

Below each institutional name is hyperlinked to a copy of the application support letter and member profile received.

2024 Arctic Member applicants – Higher Education Institutions:

- 1. College Nordique, Canada
- 2. Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning, Canada
- 3. Oslo School of Architecture and Design, Norway



2023 Non-Arctic Member applicants – Other institutions:

- 1. Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS), Denmark
- 2. Department of Geosciences, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway

Rationale:

UArctic Bylaws, section 2.1 – UArctic Membership:

UArctic has two membership categories:

- 1. Arctic Members
- 2. Non-Arctic Members

Within each membership category, there are two member types:

- i. Higher Education Institutions
- ii. Other Organizations

Acting on new applications for UArctic membership, the Assembly of UArctic decides on the category and type for each new member, based on recommendations from UArctic's Membership Committee - -.

UArctic Bylaws, section 2.6 – Resignation and Removal of Members:

If a former member organization re-applies for membership, Toyon can make an interim decision on their membership. The decision is to be confirmed by the following Assembly meeting.